Governing Council

The Scheme reports to a Governing Council. The Council consists of fifty percent consumer, and fifty percent industry representation.

Three of the consumer representatives on the Council were appointed by a selection panel comprised of representatives from the Consumers’ Institute and TUANZ, with the fourth Consumer Representative appointed by the Ministry of Consumer Affairs. The current Council members are:

Craig Young (Consumer Representative)

Craig started in the role as Chief Executive of TUANZ in October 2014. Craig is passionate about advocating for the innovative development of the telecommunications industry and TUANZ's role as the users voice. He brings to the role over 15 years in the ICT sector, with the last 10 years specifically in the telecommunications industry.

Craig was most recently at Chorus and led the multilateral engagement with industry stakeholders and customers as well as providing leadership in several industry sectors including Chorus' rural broadband commitments. Prior to his current role, Craig led the sales/business development area for Chorus for three years and prior to that was a key lead for wholesale commercial development within TelstraClear.

Deborah Battell (Consumer Representative)

Deborah is the Consumer Representative appointed by the Minister of Consumer Affairs. Deborah has a wealth of experience in consumer affairs and complaints management,  including holding the Banking Ombudsman role from 2009 to 2015 and having independently reviewed the Canadian Ombudsman for Banking and Investment Services. She is the former Director of Competition and Fair Trading at the Commerce Commission, having been at the Commission from 2001 until 2009.  

Doug Wilson (Consumer Representative)

Doug is a Consumer Representative nominated by TUANZ and Consumer New Zealand having been a board member and Deputy Chairman of TUANZ for a number of years. He is currently the CIO of the New Zealand Automobile Association with its 1.5 million members. In previous roles Doug was the Chief Executive of Wang NZ, Public Sector Director of Microsoft, Managing Director of Gateway NZ and was intimately involved in the formation of Fonterra. Having worked in both the demand and supply side of the technology industry, Doug is well qualified to add value to the Council.

Paul Elenio (Consumer Representative)

Paul's background is in media and communications. He has been a member of the New Zealand Parole Board since June 2014. He has been a member of the Complaints Assessment Committee of the Real Estate Agents Authority since November 2015. Paul is an industry member of the Advertising Standards Authority's appeal board and adjudication panel. A journalist for more than 25 years, he also has a background in advertising and marketing and general management and has written three books. He chairs the Wellington regional grants committee for the New Zealand Community Trust.

Industry Representatives

  • 2 degrees - Tracy Leighton
  • Spark - Tania Shackleton
  • Trustpower – Steven Merchant
  • Vodafone - Caroline Knight